Confession renders my failures powerless

The time has come to confess. Actually, I figured everyone knew and that my failures weren’t being pointed out because everyone was extending grace to me. However, recently I had an encounter with someone who relentlessly pointed out many of my failures.

So let’s not keep any secrets here, I am a failure at SO MUCH!

My bathrooms are stinky and much dirtier than I would have ever imagined I’d be willing to endure. Nearly every window screen is sun-damaged and torn. The corners of every wall have chipped paint and divots. The garage is full of clutter. The tile grout throughout this house is black (it shouldn’t be). There is clutter in every single room AND closet of this house. The more I try to sort and purge, the more behind I get in equivalent or greater areas. The refrigerator water-ice dispenser is broken, as are some of the door shelves. The doo-dad display shelves high up in these lofted ceilings have never been vacuumed in the 5 years we have lived here. A door on my sideboard broke off 3 years ago. It is still broken. The toilet seat in my master bath had some coating peel off when I used bleach on it so it has been yellowed ever since and my budget is too tight to buy a new one. (TMI?) Up until last month when a friend invested his own time, energy, and money, there were gaping holes in the laundry room wall where the doorknob busted through when a kiddo used too much force carrying in the oversized boxes from Costco. There are broken bathroom drawers where a little one decided to use the open one as a ladder.

My kids’ clothes don’t match and are rarely ironed. There’s a stationary bike in the corner daily condemning me for not making the time to ride it as my mid-section gets steadily chunkier. The windshield wiper on the back of my van was chopped off by the automatic garage door. I’m sure it can be fixed, but I don’t know how or where to go — and even if I did, the thought of doing this with 4 little girls in tow makes me cringe. The van is due for an oil change and some costly maintenance. I have over $18,000 in medical bills that cropped up in less than 3 months (and that’s WITH provider forgiveness, discounts, and negotiating).

Foster care and adoption is complicated, messy, draining, and difficult. It is also life-affirming, a blessing time and time again, and an ever-present reminder of God’s redeeming power over all our brokenness. With that said, I have a couple of daughters who still suffer from the effects of trauma at the hands of their bio mom and some days all that gets done is addressing their high needs. On those frequent days (though praise God, growing less frequent), I am in no shape to execute a meal plan so we all pile into the van and hit a drive-thru restaurant in spite of a tight budget because it is better than falling on the floor in a puddle of tears at being a failure again. Toy bags and boxes piled in front of the fireplace look like clutter, but really are used daily by my little ones and I have no clue how to contain them any better than this. The laundry that is in various stages of dirty and clean.

The front yard is a disaster. When we moved in, it was beautiful. The HOA is NOT happy. I am a failure at maintaining (financially and physically) the landscape in this home.

This harsh encounter that I had doesn’t define me. I know that. But in the moments when so many of my failures are being laid bare and there isn’t a husband to stand beside me to physically comfort me or anyone to cheer me on in the moments that follow, my knees buckle.

With all of that said, this isn’t about being single or married, or about being perfect or imperfect. This isn’t a subtle way to plead for affirmations either. Furthermore, as much as I’d like this to be a pre-emptive measure in order to avoid harsh criticism in the future (and yes, secretly I wish it would), I know there will always be critical people and within their criticisms there will often be grains of truth.

What this is, as I said earlier, is a confession that I do not have it all together — and I never will. I had less failures when I was without a family. I had so much more time to clean ovens, bathrooms, and closets!

Even so, I would choose family all over again. Knowing what I know now and the harsh criticisms I’ve received, I would still choose each and every one of my children and their neediness all over again. Yes, I could put them in school so I have more time to clean, get my hair done, and go for coffee with friends. And by the way, my children do have chores and cleaning the bathrooms and floors and their rooms and doing yard work are all part of their duties. It is just that there is a gap between training and perfection. . . a very long gap. And in some of these areas, I fail to effectively train them. (I obviously have NO idea how to maintain a complicated, needy landscape.) I’ve learned to accept that.

Additionally, I know that many of my friends have the same ‘secrets’ — dirty bathrooms, moldy showers, laundry piles, and so forth. So what this is, or can be, is a vehicle to help some of you feeling the press of guilt and shame about being a failure to look to Jesus for your comfort. Without a husband to shelter me, all I have is Christ. AND THAT, my friends, is all I need.

I am a sinner. I am a failure. But because I have accepted the free gift of eternal life through the sacrificial blood of Jesus and His resurrection, I am seen by God as His daughter. BAM! End of story. So even when a brother or sister in Christ withholds grace from me, God does not. This truth doesn’t always keep my knees from buckling (especially when blindsided), but it does lift me up from there once I remember it!

Psalm 40:2 says this about our Good and Great God, “He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay, And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm.”

Yah, baby!

Copyright © 2014 Deborah Rice, PeaPodFamilyPress

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Confession renders my failures powerless”

  1. Vickie Says:

    What you are doing is being honest and real. We all have these moments and if not, they are not living in the real world. Each journey is different for all of us but we can all relate. We are only one person, and only 24 hours in a day. The kids, grow so fast at that age and not just physically, mentally also, which is speeds faster than us at our age. As a single mom, working and working.. i have felt the same way… but i have to say i can fix about anything, wash clothes in a tub and survived many times living in the country when the power would go out for days… hmmmm if the world goes to poop, we will be survivors for sure, can’t put a price on that. Many times you are too busy to stop and see it all, it seems the times we do it is when we have just broke down to pieces. Sad thing, that is the worst time to reflect. You will view yourself as weak, or for me at times I guess I never had a person say “when is enough” . You never feel it is enough or where the line is enough. We need to build boundaries for our soul. Even at my age now, still trying to get the last teen up on her feet.. why is the last one the worst? I am 55 and I look at my life and say “I should be in a better place by now, better bank account, better assets, maybe to be at the point to work one job not two.. but we are not…Instead of seeing what we have not done, we must see what we have (easier said)…. Look at all the drug addicts care taking for children, might i say not care taking.. the ones that work so much they do not even know their kids birthday…. the list goes on, there is so much more we give to our kids in our life and it is the non visual stuff…those do not wear out, break or get old, it last them a life time.. cheer to us!!!

    • PeaPodFamily Says:

      Thanks for sharing these thoughts with me, Vickie. The popular phrase, “Necessity is the mother of invention” rings true for good reason! We learn to make do with what we have and mostly enjoy the journey!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Wow…are you writing this from my home?

    Single mom of four here. I would love to homeschool again, but with two in high school, one in middle and the baby in 3rd grade, my parents expect me to “get a real job” (vs the income I have coming in running my own business, paying for my bills, etc). And I’m worried that I won’t be enough for my girls, that I won’t hold them to a high (enough) standard (that I expect their public school teachers to), that I will be too leinent – or too disaplined… :/

    I was thinking about the yardwork the other day, and my 14 year old is supposed to mow our yard, but a couple neighborhood boys came by and offered…so now I can check that off my list.

    I run a dog walking/pet sitting company. I use cozi.com to keep our schedule – work & personal – in order….its accessible from personal devices as well as a home computer – so everyone can see where everyone needs to be.

    I also just found a Franklin Covey Tasks app, which I can add to as I think of something that needs to be done (yardwork, Girl Scout lessons, etc) which seems to help me.

    I’m going to go ahead and read more of your posts…but I just wanted to say, you sound an awful lot like how I feel right now, in “this season”…

    • PeaPodFamily Says:

      Jennifer, thank you for responding to this post. I’m new at this and often wonder if I am just going to post it out into cyberspace and never get any feedback! I’m glad this post was used of the Lord to spark some feedback.

      We single moms are creative, aren’t we?? I like your ideas for staying better organized. Organization seems to be a constant struggle for me. Just about the time I think I have a system worked out to suit everyone in the family, one or two kiddos go through some sort of change and our routine is all askew again!

      For example, we try to have a rest period every day, but I do count on the twins to actually NAP. Suddenly, as they are approaching their 2nd birthday, they seem to have mostly given up on napping. Now I am trying to train them to stay put, even if they don’t nap. This requires my full attention which means I do not get to accomplish everything I used to be able to do when they were actually napping every day! I just have to laugh because as the Word says, “man makes his plans, but it is God who orders his steps.”

      I invite you to stay in touch, offer me feedback, and let me know how you are doing and if you make any other decisions regarding homeschooling.

      Cheering you on!

      Debi


Leave a comment